Thirsk 10 Race Report

What a fantastic day for the Thirsk 10 Road Race hosted by Thirsk and Sowerby Harriers on Sunday 22nd March.

After laughing to myself seeing a man fall over and looking to see if anyone had seen whilst he was warming up, I knew I was in for a good day! The course was very scenic along Thirsk’s finest winding country roads. Most agreed with the course description that it was a fast and flat course, but as we found out, others insisted this was quite untrue and made sure everyone including sheep within a two mile radius knew about it (Sara). The most interesting part for me was a stretch where runners passed each other heading out and back. A game of spot the STAC made this section fly – waves, whoops and general STAC encouragement were in abundance.


With 1059 finishers on the day there was a high quality field, with international runner Jonathan Taylor of Morpeth Harriers winning by around 3 minutes in 48.45. First lady home was Justina Heslop of Elswick Harriers with another fabulous time of 58.17. The Valley Striders team of John Hobbs, Daniel Fisher, Andy May and James Tarrran won the men’s Team Prize and New Marske runners, Kay Neesam, Kath Aspin, Melanue Carlton and Joanne Goldsmith won the Ladies’ Team prize. Other results can be found at

There were a massive 60 members from St Theresa’s Athletic Club turn out for this club race so a huge pat on the back to all!

Some amazing individual times by so many people and loads of PBs on the day on what was a hot dry day. The STAC cheering squad situated near the finish line made sure everyone was supported home to collect their green t-shirt. Lesley Lavery managed to get an XXL which is very useful for when she needs to go sailing.

First three men: Richard Herrington, Ray Love and Paul Newsome First three ladies: Sarah Morley, Wanda MacDonald and Vicky Miller

By Jude Jackson

Leave a comment