Club Runs 2020

St. Aidan’s 10k, now a virtual race that can be done anytime 18-31st July is now confirmed as our next club race! In these uncertain times, a decision about future 2020 club races and how the club championship will be decided will follow when it becomes clearer what racing can take place this year.

Three club races have already taken place before the lockdown, details of the status of what were originally planned to be the 2020 club races below:

The races

Race Date Distance Type Status
PECO Harrogate Jan 19th 4.5-5m Cross country
Dewsbury Feb 2nd 10k Road / Flat
Spen 20 Mar 15th 20m Road / Undulating
Ackworth Apr 13th 13.1m Road / Undulating Cancelled
Leeds Half May 10th
Nov 22nd
13.1m Road / undulating Moved to November
Chevin Fell Race Jun 3rd 4.5k Fell Cancelled
St Aidan’s 10k Jul 3rd
Jul 18-31st
10k Trail / Flat Now a virtual race – on sale!
Canal Run Jul 7th 5k Trail / Flat Cancelled
Escrick Aug 16th 10k Mixed / Flat Cancelled
ABP Humber Coastal (away race!) Sep 20th 13.1m or 10k Road / flat TBC – has stopped taking entries
Wakefield Night Run Oct 10th 10k Road / flat TBC
Abbey Dash Oct TBC 10k Road / Flat Cancelled
Guy Fawkes Nov TBC 10m Mixed / hilly TBC
Bah Hambug 10k Dec TBC 10k Mixed / hilly TBC
  • Our away race was planned for the ABP Humber Coastal in Cleethorpes – TBC whether this is the case
  • Where entry is open, there is a link added above to take you to the booking site

What is the STAC club championship?

Info on how the STAC championship was intended to be below. The number of races that will count is TBC but will now be less than 14. There will not be a mini-championship this year:

The club championship is across 14 selected races over the year. A runners best 8 races will count towards the championship. There will be prizes for best female and male runner and the league table will be updated throughout the year.

There will also be a ‘mini-championship’ over 3 races; the Canal Run, East Leeds 10k and Escrick.

For the races chosen, we try to get a good variety of events; from distance, size, terrain and hills!

All 1st and 2nd claim members are welcome to join any or all the races. There is usually a good STAC turnout on all events. So even if you can only make one or two it’s a great way to do a run that you wouldn’t normally do with other STACs!

How does scoring work?

There is a maximum 400 points possible per race.

The fastest STAC will get 400 points; 200 points for the fastest time and 200 points for being best STAC.

Everyone else gets points related to how fast they were compared to the fastest time (so if a person was 25% slower they would get 150/200 points) and their STAC placing in that race (so if they were 5th fastest STAC 195/200) points. A total of 345/400 points for this example.

There are 14 races in 2020 and the best 8 will count towards the final placing in the table.

Throughout the year the club championship table will be updated as follows:

Race No. Table will be updated to show:
1 Best 1 from 1 race
2 2 from 2
3 2 from 3
4 3 from 4
5 3 from 5
6 4 from 6
7 4 from 7
8 5 from 8
9 6 from 9
10 6 from 10
11 7 from 11
12 7 from 12
13 8 from 13
14 8 from 14

Previous Championship

Results from the 2019 club championship

Trophy Winners Archive